Unique Bridal Entrances!

“Here Comes The Bride”, originally written for Lohengrin, the opera, in 1850, is the most traditional and popular way to walk down the aisle, with your father at one side. But one of my brides recently asked me about ideas for more personal and unique ways she could walk down the aisle, and I’d love to share my thoughts with you all too.

Today brides are replacing the wedding march and choosing a song that represents them more expressly. Some songs that have become popular are “Somewhere over the Rainbow” by Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo’le,  “She” by Elvis Costello and “Cowboy Take Me Away” by Dixie Chicks (instrumental only). Surprise your guests with something exciting and unexpected. After the bridal party enters and doors close, the bride’s song could change over to a dramatic and lively song such as the Star Wars theme or 20th Century Fox movie intro.The song by Manfred Mann, “Doo Wah Diddy” would be a blast for a bride to walk into! Imagine everyone expecting a slow, mellow song then hear:  “There she was just a-walkin’ down the street, singin’ ‘Do wah diddy diddy dum diddy do…”. A bride can have so much fun creating just the right entrance that represents her.

0223_DA_LF2011-1

Photo by Life Fusion Studio

As for the father of the bride walking his daughter down the aisle, this tradition is also changing. I was married last year and opted to have both of my parents walk me down the aisle, and a good friend of mine sing, “Forever” as I entered. Halfway through the entrance, my friend’s daughter placed leis on each of my parents and kissed their cheeks. My friend who sang teared up and asked my parents if they gave us their blessing. After we exchanged vows, my husband and I exited to “I Do!” by Colbie Caillat. It was just perfect for us!

Ceremony116-L

Photo by Torrico Photography

I have seen brides enter with different parts of their families as well, from siblings to extended family. One bride of ours’ parents had passed away so her young nephew walked her down the aisle and gave her away. It was moving and adorable. For a wedding in which the bride and groom already have children, think about incorporating the children with roles in the march. For example, the bride’s son can walk her in, with the groom’s son meeting them halfway and taking the bride to the groom or vice versa.

100807_zel-zur_162

Photo by Domingo Photography

Incorporating the bride’s personality into the march is what makes it special. If having the person or people closest to her means a lot, then it should be done. Some brides choose to enter solo, this way she can see all of her loved ones while she enters. Some brides love the romantic guitar while other wants something upbeat. For me personally, I chose my friend to sing a song that had meaning for us, and having live music while I entered was important because of who was singing the song, the words, and the uniqueness of this type of entrance. Whatever a bride chooses to enter to, you can’t go wrong if it’s heartfelt and meaningful to you and your future spouse!

Img_141_090509Photo by Studio Duva

Main Wedding Website

“Like” us on Facebook

Pin with us on Pinterest

Contact Us!

Leave a Reply

