The Real Deal In Changing Your Last Name!

So, is it really that chaotic to change a young ladie’s last name?

When I first reviewed the steps I had created in a quick article for a prior bride, I must admit I became a little overwhelmed. First of all, I wasn’t sure I was completely ready to let go of my current last name. I considered the idea of hyphenating, but that was too much for me, personally. My maiden name is Romero and my husband’s is Bribiesca…I know right?! It comes from a small town in Spain, Briviesca, which we will visit one day soon, I am sure.  After speaking to a few friends who had recently been married, I decided it wouldn’t be so difficult to change my name to Bribiesca.

diana3

The first step is receiving the marriage certificate, which shows the marriage is legal. I was married in Hawaii so rather than the typical one month, it took about 3 ½. Our friend married us, so we questioned if he did everything correctly and if we were even really married. We were thankful when we received our certificate!

diana1

The next step was going to the social security office and applying for a new card with the SS-5 form, which can be accessed here. When I went to the social security office I took my marriage certificate, my social security card, birth certificate, and ID, along with copies of the marriage certificate just in case.  I went to the social security office in La Mesa, CA and grabbed a number, spoke to an employee, and then waited for about 10 minutes. The gentleman who called my name was very nice. He couldn’t pronounce my new last name but said my ring was gorgeous and that my husband did great. He also said that with my receipt of name change, I was ready to go anywhere I needed to.

diana5

The next place I went was DMV to get a new license to reflect my new name. I made an appointment so I was in and out within minutes! After DMV, I plan on getting my passport, which just expired last year, so the timing couldn’t be better.  I will hold onto my current ID since so many places have me as Diana Romero and I plan on tackling those at a steady pace.

Here are the other places I will need to go:

  • My bank to adjust all my accounts

  • My employer’s records, health insurance, retirement accounts and any IDs

  • Bills such as SDG&E and other utilities and Victoria’s Secret!

  • Gym membership

  • Insurance companies (car, home, health)

  • Post office to request a change of address form in order to change the name

  • Credit cards

  • Any automatic withdrawals from my account

After beginning the process, I realized it’s not all that crazy. I know it will take some time to go to and call all the places I need to, but I am giving myself some time to complete it all. After I complete the name change, I am going to make an announcement to all my family and friends! I think it’s a wonderful event in life and can’t wait to share!

Main Wedding Website

“Like” us on Facebook

Pin with us on Pinterest

Contact Us!

4 thoughts on “The Real Deal In Changing Your Last Name!

Leave a Reply

